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ESTIMATED FISCAL IMPACT OF THE RULE:   [see §8057-A(1)(C)]: Most licensees are currently certified 
in basic life support, but there may be a small financial impact to a limited number of licensees who need to obtain 
such certification. 
 

FOR EXISTING RULES WITH FISCAL IMPACT OF $1 MILLION OR MORE, ALSO INCLUDE: 
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AND HOW THEY WILL BE AFFECTED:  [see §8057-A(2)(B)] 
  
  
  
 BENEFITS OF THE RULE:   [see §8057-A(2)(C)] 
  

Note:  If necessary, additional pages may be used. 







 
 
02  DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
 
313  BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
 
Chapter 2: QUALIFICATIONS FOR DENTAL HYGIENIST LICENSURE AND DENTAL 

HYGIENIST PRACTICE AUTHORITIES 
 
 
SUMMARY: This chapter sets forth the qualifications for initial licensure as a dental hygienist and 
qualifications for dental hygiene practice authorities.  
 
 
 
I. GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS; APPLICATION; FEES 
 

A. An applicant seeking licensure or authority to practice under this chapter must submit an 
application with the appropriate fee, and any other materials required by the Board. 
 

B. An applicant has 90 days after being notified of any additional materials needed to 
complete the application to submit those materials to the Board. Failure to complete the 
application within that 90-day period may result in a denial of the application. 

 
C. Verification of current certification in CPRBLS. For purposes of meeting the CPR BLS 

certification requirements under this chapter, online trainings are not accepted, unless the 
applicant can verify hands-on participation with the instructor as a component of the 
training. 

 
D. Verification of passing the jurisprudence examination administered by the Board with a 

grade of 90 percent. Applicants who do not pass the jurisprudence examination in three 
attempts may be preliminarily denied licensure. 

 
 
II. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR DENTAL HYGIENIST INITIAL LICENSURE 
 

A. Verification of an associate’s degree or higher from a dental hygiene program accredited 
by CODA or its successor organization or the educational equivalent of a dental hygiene 
degree as determined by the Board, or of having completed at least 1/2 of the prescribed 
course of study in an accredited dental college as a dental student; 
 

B. Verification of passing the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination or the successor 
to that examination; and  

 
C. Verification of passing all sections of a Board-approved regional or state dental board 

dental hygiene examination. 
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III. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR INDEPENDENT PRACTICE DENTAL 
HYGIENIST AUTHORITY 

 
 A. Verification of an active dental hygienist license in good standing under the Maine 

Dental Practice Act; and 
 
 B. Verification of 2,000 hours of clinical practice experience as a licensed dental hygienist. 
 
 
IV. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR PUBLIC HEALTH DENTAL HYGIENIST 

AUTHORITY  
 
 A. Verification of an active dental hygienist license in good standing under the Maine 

Dental Practice Act; and 
 
 B. Verification that services will be offered in a public health setting. Submission of a 

written practice agreement between the applicant and a supervising dentist that outlines 
the roles and responsibilities of the collaboration, which must include: 

 
  (1) Supervising dentist’s responsibilities, including: 
 
   a. Providing an appropriate level of contact, communication, collaboration, 

and consultation with the dental hygienist; 
 
   b.  Having specific standing orders or policy guidelines for procedures that 

are to be carried out for each location or program, although the dentist need not be 
present when the procedures are being performed; 

 
  (2) Dental hygienist’s responsibilities, including: 
 
Documenting revisions to a written practice agreement in a new practice agreement and filing it with the 

Board within 10 days of the change. Similarly, documenting termination of a practice 
agreement and submitting it to the Board within 10 days of the change; 

 
Maintaining an appropriate level of contact and communication with the Maine licensed dentist providing 

Public Health Supervision; 
 
Identifying the public health dental hygiene settings under which services are to be provided; 
 
   d. Informing each patient who may require further dental services of that 

need; and 
 
   e. Providing to the patient, parent or guardian a written plan for referral or 

an agreement for follow-up, recording all conditions that should be called to the attention 
of a dentist. 
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V. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR DENTAL THERAPIST AUTHORITY  
 
 A. Verification of an active dental hygienist license in good standing under the Maine 

Dental Practice Act; 
 
 B. Verification of a master’s degree in dental therapy from a program that is either CODA 

accredited or meets the curriculum requirements adopted by board rule; 
 

C. Verification of 2,000 hours of supervised clinical practice while licensed as a provisional 
dental therapist and under the supervision of a dentist; 

 
For purposes of meeting the clinical requirements of this subparagraph, an applicant's 
hours of supervised clinical experience may be completed under the supervision of a 
dentist licensed in another state or a Canadian province, provided that the applicant was 
operating lawfully under the laws and rules of that state or province;  
 

 D. (Not in use) 
 
 E. Submission of a written practice agreement in settings limited to those enumerated in 32 

M.R.S. § 18377(3) between the applicant and a supervising dentist that outlines the roles 
and responsibilities of the collaboration, and which must include: 

 
 (1) The services and procedures and the practice settings for those services and 

procedures that the dental therapist may provide, together with any limitations on 
those services and procedures; 

 
 (2) Any age-specific and procedure-specific practice protocols, including case 

selection criteria, assessment guidelines and imaging frequency; 
 

 (3) Procedures to be used with patients treated by the dental therapist for obtaining 
informed consent and for creating and maintaining dental records; 

 
 (4) A plan for review of patient records by the supervising dentist and the dental 

therapist; 
 

 (5) A plan for managing medical emergencies in each practice setting in which the 
dental therapist provides care; 

 
 (6) A quality assurance plan for monitoring care, including patient care review, 

referral follow-up, and a quality assurance chart review; 
 

 (7) Protocols for administering and dispensing medications, including the specific 
circumstances under which medications may be administered and dispensed; 

 
 (8) Criteria for providing care to patients with specific medical conditions or 

complex medical histories, including requirements for consultation prior to 
initiating care; and 
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 (9) Specific written protocols, including a plan for providing clinical resources and 
referrals, governing situations in which the patient requires treatment that 
exceeds the scope of practice or capabilities of the dental therapist. 

 
 F. Revisions to a written practice agreement must be documented in a new practice 

agreement and filed with the Board within 10 days of the change. Similarly, termination 
of a practice agreement must be documented and submitted to the Board within 10 days 
of the change; and 

 
 G. Verification of passing all sections of a clinical examination approved by the Board. 
 
 
VI. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR PROVISIONAL DENTAL THERAPIST 

AUTHORITY  
 
 A. Verification of an active dental hygienist license in good standing under the Maine 

Dental Practice Act; 
 
 B. Verification of a master’s degree in dental therapy from a program that is either CODA 

accredited or meets the curriculum requirements adopted by board rule; 
 

C. (Not in use) 
 

D. Submission of a current, written practice agreement in settings limited to those 
enumerated in 32 M.R.S. §18377(3) between the applicant and a supervising dentist that 
outlines the roles and responsibilities of the collaboration, and which must include: 

 
 (1) The services and procedures and the practice settings for those services and 

procedures that the dental therapist may provide, together with any limitations on 
those services and procedures; 

 
 (2) Any age-specific and procedure-specific practice protocols, including case 

selection criteria, assessment guidelines and imaging frequency; 
 

 (3) Procedures to be used with patients treated by the dental therapist for obtaining 
informed consent and for creating and maintaining dental records; 

 
 (4) A plan for review of patient records by the supervising dentist and the dental 

therapist; 
 

 (5) A plan for managing medical emergencies in each practice setting in which the 
dental therapist provides care; 

 
 (6) A quality assurance plan for monitoring care, including patient care review, 

referral follow-up and a quality assurance chart review; 
 

 (7) Protocols for administering and dispensing medications, including the specific 
circumstances under which medications may be administered and dispensed; 
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 (8) Criteria for providing care to patients with specific medical conditions or 
complex medical histories, including requirements for consultation prior to 
initiating care; and 

 
 (9) Specific written protocols, including a plan for providing clinical resources and 

referrals, governing situations in which the patient requires treatment that 
exceeds the scope of practice or capabilities of the dental therapist. 

 
E. Revisions to a written practice agreement must be documented in a new practice 

agreement and filed with the Board within 10 days of the change. Similarly, termination 
of a practice agreement must be documented and submitted to the Board within 10 days 
of the change; and 

 
F. Verification of passing all sections of a clinical examination approved by the Board. 

 
 
VII. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF LOCAL 

ANESTHESIA AUTHORITY 
 
 A. Verification of an active dental hygienist license in good standing under the Maine 

Dental Practice Act; 
 
 B. Verification of successfully completing a local anesthesia course approved by the Board 

or sponsored by an institutional program accredited by CODA. The coursework must 
include didactic and clinical experience in the administration of block and infiltration 
anesthesia; and 

 
 C. Verification of passing an examination in the administration of local anesthesia. The 

examination may be part of the local anesthesia course approved by the Board, or an 
examination administered by a third party approved by the Board.  

 
 
VIII. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF NITROUS OXIDE 

ANALGESIA AUTHORITY 
 
 A. Verification of an active dental hygienist license in good standing under the Maine 

Dental Practice Act; 
 
 B. Verification of successfully completing a nitrous oxide analgesia course approved by the 

Board or sponsored by an institutional program accredited by CODA. The coursework 
must include didactic and clinical experience; and 

 
 C. Verification of passing an examination in the administration of nitrous oxide analgesia. 

The examination may be part of the nitrous oxide analgesia course approved by the 
Board, or an examination administered by a third party approved by the Board.  

 
 
IX.  SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR FACULTY LICENSURE  

 
A. Verification of an active dental hygiene license in good standing issued under the laws of 

another jurisdiction; 
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B. Credentials, satisfactory to the Board, including:  
 

(1) A letter from the employing school of dentistry, dental hygiene or denturism 
indicating that the applicant satisfies the credentialing standards of the school and 
that the applicant will teach dental hygiene in this State as part of a clinical and 
didactic program for professional education for dental hygiene students and 
dental hygiene residents accredited by CODA or a successor organization 
approved by the Board; and 

 
(2) Previous employment experience relevant to the subject to be taught (including 

dates of employment). 
 
 
X. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR TEMPORARY LICENSURE PURSUANT TO 

10 M.R.S. §8003(5)(G) 
 

A Verification of an active dental hygiene license in good standing issued under the laws of 
another state and payment of applicable fees. The Board may waive the license fee if the 
purpose of the temporary license is to provide free dental care in conjunction with a 
charitable nonprofit organization. 

 
B. The Board may waive the CPR BLS and jurisprudence examination requirements set 

forth in Chapter 2(I)(C) and (D) for good cause. 
 
 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  
 32 M.R.S. §§ 18324, 18341, 18345, 18347-A, and 18376(1). 10 M.R.S. §8003(5)(G); P.L. 2021 

ch. 44 (Emergency, effective Mary 5, 2021; and P.L. 2021 ch. 163 (Emergency, effective June 
11, 2021). 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 April 5, 2020 – filing 2020-067 
 
AMENDED: 
 December 15, 2021 – filing 2021-249 
 



02  DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
 
313  STATE BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
 
Chapter 3: QUALIFICATIONS FOR EXPANDED FUNCTION DENTAL ASSISTANT 

LICENSURE 
 
 
Summary: This chapter sets forth the qualifications for initial licensure as an expanded function 
dental assistant. 
 
 
 
I. GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS; APPLICATION; FEES 
 

A. An applicant seeking licensure to practice under this chapter must submit an application 
with the appropriate fee, and any other materials required by the Board. 

 
B. An applicant has 90 days after being notified of any additional materials needed to 

complete the application to submit those materials to the Board. Failure to complete the 
application within that 90-day period may result in a denial of the application. 

 
C. Verification of passing the jurisprudence examination administered by the Board with a 

grade of 90 percent. Applicants who do not pass the jurisprudence examination in three 
attempts may be preliminarily denied licensure. 
 

D. Verification of current certification in CPRBLS. For purposes of meeting the CPRBLS 
certification requirements, online trainings are not accepted, unless the applicant can 
verify hands-on participation with the instructor as a component of the training. 
 

 
II. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR EXPANDED FUNCTION DENTAL ASSISTANT 

LICENSURE 
 
A. Verification of a high school diploma or its equivalent as determined by the Board; 

 
B. Verification of one of the following: 
 

(1) A current certificate as a certified dental assistant from a Board-approved 
program; andor 

 
(2) An active dental hygiene license in good standing issued under the laws of this 

State or another jurisdiction. 
 

C. Verification of successfully completed training in a school or program in expanded 
function dental assisting approved by the Board. 
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STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  
 32 M.R.S. §§ 18324, 18341, 18344P.L. 2021 ch. 163 (Emergency, effective June 11, 2021) . 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 April 5, 2020 – filing 2020-069 
 
AMENDED: 
 December 15, 2021 – filing 2021-250 
 



 
 

02  DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
 
313  BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
 
Chapter 4: QUALIFICATIONS FOR DENTAL RADIOGRAPHY LICENSURE 
 
 
Summary: This chapter sets forth the qualifications for initial licensure as a dental radiographer. 
 
 
 
I. GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS; APPLICATION; FEES 
 

A. An applicant seeking licensure to practice under this chapter must submit an application 
with the appropriate fee, and any other materials required by the Board. 

 
B. An applicant has 90 days after being notified of any additional materials needed to 

complete the application to submit those materials to the Board. Failure to complete the 
application within that 90-day period may result in a denial of the application. 

 
 C. Verification of passing the jurisprudence examination administered by the Board with a 

grade of 90 percent. Applicants who do not pass the jurisprudence examination in three 
attempts may be preliminarily denied licensure. 

 
 D. Verification of current certification in CPRBLS. For purposes of meeting the CPRBLS 

certification requirements, online trainings are not accepted, unless the licensee can verify 
hands-on participation with the instructor as a component of the training.  

 
 
II. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR DENTAL RADIOGRAPHY LICENSURE 
 
 A. Verification of a high school diploma or its equivalent as determined by the Board; 

 
 B. Verification of successfully completing one of the following: 
 
  (1) a course in dental radiologic technique and safety with an exit examination 

approved by the Board, or 
 
  (2) an examination in dental radiologic technique and safety approved by the Board. 
 
 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  
 32 M.R.S. §§ 18324, 18341, 18343, and 18347-A. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 April 5, 2020 – filing 2020-071 



 
 

02  DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
 
313  MAINE BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
 
Chapter 5: QUALIFICATIONS FOR DENTURIST LICENSURE 
 
 
Summary: This chapter sets forth the requirements for initial licensure as a denturist. 
 
 
 
I. GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS; APPLICATION; FEES 
 

A. An applicant seeking licensure to practice under this chapter must submit an application 
with the appropriate fee, and any other materials required by the Board. 

 
B.  An applicant has 90 days after being notified of the materials needed to complete the 

application to submit those materials to the Board. Failure to complete the application 
within that 90-day period may result in a denial of the application. 

 
C. Verification of passing the jurisprudence examination administered by the Board with a grade 

of 90 percent. Applicants who do not pass the jurisprudence examination in three attempts 
may be preliminarily denied licensure. 

 
D. Verification of current certification in CPRBLS. For purposes of meeting the CPRBLS 

certification requirements under this chapter, online trainings are not accepted, unless the 
applicant can verify hands-on participation with the instructor as a component of the 
training. 

 
 
II. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR DENTURIST LICENSURE 
 

A. Verification of a high school diploma or its equivalent as determined by the Board; 
 
B. Verification of a diploma from a Board-approved denturism postsecondary institution 

that meets or exceeds the International Federation of Denturists baseline competencies; 
and 

 
C. Verification of passing all sections of a Board-approved examination administered by a 

third-party. Applicants who do not pass the Board-approved examination in three 
attempts within a year from the date of application may be preliminarily denied licensure. 

 
 
III. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR FACULTY LICENSURE 
 

A. Verification of an active denturist license in good standing issued under the laws of 
another jurisdiction; 
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B. Credentials, satisfactory to the Board, including:  
 
 (1) A letter from the employing school of dentistry, dental hygiene or denturism 

indicating that the applicant satisfies the credentialing standards of the school and 
that the applicant will teach denturism in this State as part of a Board-approved 
clinical and didactic program for professional education for denturism students; 
and 

 
(2) Previous employment experience relevant to the subject to be taught (including 

dates). 
 
 

IV. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR TEMPORARY LICENSURE PURSUANT TO 
10 M.R.S. §8003(5)(G) 

 
A Verification of an active denturism license in good standing issued under the laws of 

another state and payment of applicable fees. The Board may waive the license fee if the 
purpose of the temporary license is to provide free dental care in conjunction with a 
charitable nonprofit organization. 

 
B. The Board may waive the CPRBLS and jurisprudence examination requirements set forth 

in Chapter 5(I)(C) and (D) above for good cause. 
 
 
 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  
 32 M.R.S. §§ 18324, 18341, 18346, and 18347-A10 M.R.S. §8003(5)(G); and P.L. 2021 ch. 163 

(Emergency, effective June 11, 2021). 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 April 5, 2020 – filing 2020-073 
 
AMENDED: 
 December 15, 2021 – filing 2021-251 
 



 
 
 

 
02  DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
 
313  BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
 
Chapter 6: QUALIFICATIONS FOR DENTIST LICENSURE 
 
 
Summary: This chapter sets forth the qualifications for licensure as a dentist. 
 
 
 
I. GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS; APPLICATION; FEES 
 
 A. An applicant seeking licensure to practice under this chapter must submit an application 

with the appropriate fee, and any other materials required by the Board. 
 

B. An applicant has 90 days after being notified of any additional materials needed to 
complete the application to submit those materials to the Board. Failure to complete the 
application within that 90-day period may result in a denial of the application. 

 
 C. Verification of passing the jurisprudence examination administered by the Board with a 

grade of 90 percent. Applicants who do not pass the jurisprudence examination in three 
attempts may be preliminarily denied licensure. 

 
D. Verification of current certification in CPRBLS. For purposes of meeting the CPRBLS 

certification requirements under this chapter, online trainings are not accepted, unless the 
licensee can verify hands-on participation with the instructor as a component of the 
training. 

 
 
II. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR DENTIST LICENSURE 
 
 A. Verification of a doctoral degree in dentistry, such as a D.M.D. or D.D.S., from a dental 

school whose program is accredited by CODA or the educational equivalent of a doctoral 
degree in dentistry as determined by the Board; 
 

 B. Verification of passing all parts of the National Dental Board Examination or the 
successor to that examination; and 
 

 C. Verification of passing all sections of a regional or state dental board examination 
approved by the Board. 
 
 

III. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR FACULTY LICENSURE  
 
A. Verification of an active dental license in good standing issued under the laws of another 

jurisdiction; 
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B. Credentials, satisfactory to the Board, including: 
 
 (1) A letter from the employing school of dentistry, dental hygiene or denturism 

indicating that the applicant satisfies the credentialing standards of the school and 
that the applicant will teach dentistry, dental hygiene or denturism in this State as 
part of a clinical and didactic program for professional education for dental 
students and dental residents accredited by CODA or a successor organization 
approved by the Board; and 

 
 (2) Previous employment experience relevant to the subject to be taught (including 

dates of employment).  
 

 
IV. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR LIMITED DENTIST LICENSURE 
 

A. Verification of a doctoral degree in dentistry, such as a D.M.D. or D.D.S., from a dental 
school whose program is accredited by CODA or the educational equivalent of a doctoral 
degree in dentistry as determined by the Board; 

 
B. Verification of an active, inactive, or expired dentist license in good standing issued 

under the laws of this State, or of an active dental license in good standing issued under 
the laws of another jurisdiction; and 

 
C. Verification that the applicant will be practicing dentistry in a nonprofit dental clinic 

without compensation for work performed at the clinic. 
 

 
V. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR RESIDENT DENTIST LICENSURE 
 
 A. Verification of a doctoral degree in dentistry, such as a D.M.D. or D.D.S., from a dental 

school whose program is accredited by CODA or the educational equivalent of a doctoral 
degree in dentistry as determined by the Board. 

 
 B. (RESERVED) 

 
 C. (RESERVED) 
 

D. Verification from a Board-approved post-graduate dental residency program that includes 
the following: 
 
(1) Affirms that the applicant has an academic affiliation and is enrolled in a dental 

residency program; 
 
(2) Affirms that the applicant has completed satisfactory training and is ready to 

perform dental services in limited settings under the supervision of a sponsoring 
dentist; and 

 
E. A supervision plan submitted by the sponsoring dentist that describes the following: 

 
  (1) Board-approved setting that identifies the location(s), and the start and end dates 

of the clinical experience;  



 
 
 

02-313 Chapter 6     page 3 

 

 
  (2) Identifies that the level of supervision and control over the services to be 

performed by the applicant are adequate, and that the performance of these 
services are within the applicant’s dental knowledge and skill. 

 
 
VI. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR TEMPORARY LICENSURE PURSUANT TO 

10 M.R.S. §8003(5)(G) 
 

A Verification of an active dentist license in good standing issued under the laws of another 
state and payment of applicable fees. The Board may waive the license fee if the purpose 
of the temporary license is to provide free dental care in conjunction with a charitable 
nonprofit organization. 

 
B. The Board may waive the CPRBLS and jurisprudence examination requirements set forth 

in Chapter 6(I)(C) and (D) for good cause. 
 
 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  
 32 M.R.S. §§ 18324, 18341, 18342, and 18347-A10 M.R.S. §8003(5)(G); P.L. 2021 ch. 88 

(Emergency, effective June 8, 2021); and P.L. 2021 ch. 163 (Emergency effective June 11, 2021). 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 April 5, 2020 – filing 2020-075 
 
AMENDED: 
 December 15, 2021 – filing 2021-252 
 



02  DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
 
313  BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
 
Chapter 11: QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT; REQUIREMENTS 

FOR RENEWAL, LATE RENEWAL, AND REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSURE 
AND AUTHORITIES 

 
 
Summary: This chapter sets forth the qualifications for licensure by endorsement and the requirements for 
renewal, late renewal, and reinstatement for licenses and authorities to practice under the Maine Dental 
Practice Act. 
 
 
 
I. GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS; REQUIREMENTS 
 

A. An applicant seeking licensure by endorsement, or an applicant seeking to renew, renew 
late, or reinstate a license or an authority must submit an application with the appropriate 
fee, and any other materials required by the Board. 

 
B. An applicant has 90 days after being notified of any materials needed to complete the 

application to submit those materials to the Board. Failure to complete the application within 
that 90-day period may result in a denial of the application. 

 
 

II. SPECIFIC QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT; APPLICANTS 
AUTHORIZED TO PRACTICE IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION 

 
 The Board is authorized, at its discretion, to waive the examination requirements, consider an 

educational equivalency in meeting the educational requirements, and issue a license or grant an 
authority to an applicant who is licensed under the laws of another jurisdiction who furnishes proof, 
satisfactory to the Board, that the other requirements for licensure have been met. 

 
A. Substantially Equivalent License. The Board will review materials submitted by the 

applicant as outlined below to determine if the applicant has actively practiced with a 
substantially equivalent license at the level of licensure applied for under the laws and rules 
of the Board. An applicant seeking licensure by endorsement pursuant to this provision must 
provide: 

 
 (1) Verification of all licenses in good standing under which the applicant actively 

practiced during the 3 consecutive years immediately preceding application to the 
Board; 

 
 (2) Documentation of the laws and rules of all jurisdictions in which the applicant 

actively practiced during the 3 consecutive years immediately preceding application 
to the Board; 

 
 (3) A summary in the nature of a resume or curriculum vitae describing the applicant’s 

practice during the 3 consecutive years immediately preceding application for 
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licensure to the Board. The summary must contain references with sufficient contact 
information to enable verification by email address, mail, and telephone; and 

 
 (4) Verification of current certification in CPRBLS. For purposes of meeting the CPR 

BLS requirement, online trainings are not accepted unless the applicant can verify 
hands-on participation with the instructor as a component of the training. 

  
B. Substantially Similar Qualifications. The Board will review materials submitted by the 

applicant as outlined below to determine if the applicant’s qualifications are substantially 
similar to the requirements for initial licensure for the level of licensure applied for under 
the laws and rules of the Board. An applicant seeking licensure by endorsement pursuant to 
this provision must provide: 

 
 (1) Verification of all licenses in good standing under which the applicant is actively 

licensed; 
 
 (2) All application materials for qualifications required for initial licensure as a dentist, 

dental hygienist, dental hygienist authorities pursuant to 32 M.R.S. §18345(2), a 
denturist, a dental radiographer, or an expanded function dental assistant, as 
applicable; and 

 
 (3) Verification of current certification in CPRBLS. For purposes of meeting the CPR 

BLS requirement, online trainings are not accepted unless the applicant can verify 
hands-on participation with the instructor as a component of the training. 

 
 
III. SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSURE  

 
A. Renewal Requirements – Prior to the Date of Expiration 
 
 (1) An applicant must apply for renewal on or before the date of expiration; and 
 
 (2) An applicant must complete the continuing education requirements pursuant to 

Chapter 13 as a condition to renew. 
 
B. Late Renewal – Within 90 Days after Expiration 
 
 (1) An applicant who applies for renewal after expiration of the license, but within 90 

days of expiration, must pay the required fees. The licensee will remain subject to 
disciplinary action for all other violations; and 

 
 (2) An applicant must complete the continuing education requirements pursuant to 

Chapter 13 as a condition to renew. Continuing education hours earned after the date 
of license expiration will not be applied to the late renewal application. 

 
C. Reinstatement Requirements – Between 91 Days and Two Years of Expiration 
 
 (1) An applicant who applies for reinstatement after expiration of the license, but 

between 91 days and two years of expiration must pay the required fees and meet all 
qualifications for initial licensure. The Board may, giving due consideration to the 
protection of the public, waive the examination requirements. 
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  An applicant whose license has been expired more than two years must submit an 

application for initial licensure, pay the required fee and meet all of the 
qualifications as outlined in Board statute and rule.  

 
 
IV. SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS FOR THE RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT OF 

DENTAL HYGIENE AUTHORITIES 
 

A. The following are requirements to renew and reinstate a dental hygiene practice authority in 
the practice areas of local anesthesia, nitrous oxide analgesia, and independent practice 
dental hygiene and public health dental hygiene: 
 
(1) A dental hygienist who at the time of renewal has a practice authority identified in 

Section IV(A) must meet the dental hygiene renewal requirements of this Chapter. 
 

(2) A dental hygienist who at the time of a late renewal has a practice authority 
identified in Section IV(A) must meet the dental hygiene late renewal requirements 
of this Chapter. 

 
(3) A dental hygienist who at the time of license expiration held a practice authority 

identified in Section IV(A) must meet the dental hygiene reinstatement 
requirements, file an initial authority application, pay the required fees, and meet all 
the requirements for the practice authority. The Board may, giving due 
consideration to the protection of the public, waive the examination requirements. 

 
(4) A dental hygienist who at the time of license expiration held a practice authority 

identified in Section IV(A) and whose license expired more than two years from the 
date of expiration must submit an application for dental hygiene licensure and any 
practice authority, pay the required fees, and meet all requirements for licensure and 
the practice authority. 

 
B. The following are requirements to renew and reinstate a dental hygiene authority in the 

practice areas of public health dental hygiene, dental therapy, and provisional dental therapy: 
 
(1) A dental hygienist who at the time of renewal has a practice authority identified in 

Section IV(B) must meet the dental hygiene renewal requirements of this Chapter, 
and submit a current, valid practice agreement(s) with a supervising dentist(s) 
pursuant to Board Rule, Chapter 2. 
 

(2) A dental hygienist who at the time of a late renewal has a practice authority 
identified in Section IV(B) must meet the dental hygiene late renewal requirements 
of this Chapter, and submit a current, valid practice agreement(s) with a supervising 
dentist(s) pursuant to Board Rule, Chapter 2. 

 
(3) A dental hygienist who at the time of license expiration held a practice authority 

identified in Section IV(B) must meet the dental hygiene reinstatement 
requirements, file an initial authority application, pay the required fees and meet all 
the requirements for the practice authority. The Board may, giving due 
consideration to the protection of the public, waive the examination requirements. 
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(4) A dental hygienist who at the time of license expiration held a practice authority 
identified in Section IV(A) and whose license expired more than two years from the 
date of expiration must submit an application for dental hygiene licensure and any 
practice authority, pay the required fees, and meet all requirements for licensure and 
the practice authority. 

 
 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  
 32 M.R.S. §§ 18324, 18341, 18347, 18349, and 18350P.L. 2021 ch. 163 (Emergency, 

effective June 11, 2021). 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 April 5, 2020 – filing 2020-083 
 
AMENDED: 
 December 15, 2021 – filing 2021-253 
 



02  DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
 
313  MAINE BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
 
Chapter 12: PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS 
 
 
Summary: This chapter sets forth the practice requirements as noted for individuals licensed under the 
Maine Dental Practice Act. Failure to adhere to the practice requirements may result in disciplinary action 
taken pursuant to 32 M.R.S. §18325 and 10 M.R.S. §8003(5-A). 
 
 
 
I. GENERAL PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS 

 
The following practice responsibilities apply to individuals licensed as indicated below: 

 
A. INFECTION CONTROL 
 

(1) All licensees shall utilize the CDC Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental 
Health-Care Settings, 2003. 

 
(2) A licensee who is providing general supervision or direct supervision must 

ensure the supervised individual’s training and/or certification is completed to 
comply with the CDC Guidelines noted in Section I (A)(1). 

 
B. RADIATION PROTECTION; DENTAL RADIOGRAPHS; PATIENT SELECTION 

 
(1) A licensee who is providing dental services utilizing radiological equipment is 

required to operate and maintain such equipment in compliance with Maine’s 
Radiation Control Program, as provided for in the Radiation Protection Act, 
22 M.R.S. §§ 671-690. 

 
(2) A licensee who is authorized to practice dental radiography or use ionizing 

radiation for diagnostic purposes is required to place on or over a patient’s body 
radiation barriers, such as protective aprons and thyroid shields, prior to exposing 
that patient to ionizing radiation. 

 
(3) A licensee shall utilize the ADA/FDA publication “Dental Radiographic 

Examinations: Recommendations for Patient Selection and Limiting Radiation 
Exposure” (as revised in 2012) when selecting patients for dental radiographic 
examinations and utilizing ionizing radiation. 

 
C. LOCAL, STATE, AND FEDERAL HEALTH AND SAFETY REGULATIONS 
 

(1) All licensees shall comply with the following: 
 

(a) Premises shall be kept clean, orderly and free of accumulated rubbish 
and similar substances; 
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(b) Premises shall be kept free of all insects and vermin by utilizing proper 
control and eradication methods; 

 
(c) Piped water supply shall conform with local, state and federal regulations. 

Use of other water sources shall comply with the CDC Guidelines for 
Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings, 2003; 

 
(d) All structures shall be in compliance with local and state building codes; 

 
(e) Sanitary conditions shall be maintained at all times for patients and 

employees, including immediately available toilet facilities. See 29 C.F.R. § 
1910.141(c); and 

 
(f) Operations shall be in compliance with OSHA Standards applicable to 

dental practices related to bloodborne pathogens, hazard communication, 
ionizing radiation, and exit routes and emergency planning. See 29 C.F.R. 
§§ 1910.35-1910.39, 1910.1030, 1910.1096, 1910.1200.  

 
D. EMERGENCY PROTOCOL 

 
(1) All licensees shall comply with the following: 

 
(a) Adopt and follow a written protocol for managing medical or dental 

emergencies; 
 
(b) Maintain a current emergency drug kit appropriate to scope of practice; 
 
(c) Maintain communication equipment that ensures rapid access to 

emergency responders and others as necessary;  
 
(d) Provide training, if responsible for hiring and/or supervising staff, to 

ensure that staff are trained upon employment/supervision, and at least 
annually thereafter, to implement the emergency protocols; and 

 
(e) Maintain accessibility to an automated external defibrillator device. 

 
E. DENTAL ADVERSE OCCURENCE REPORT 

 
(1) All licensees shall report the following adverse conditions to the Board: 

 
(a) Death of a patient within 48 hours after the administration of a dental 

practice procedure. Such reporting shall be made within 72 hours of the 
death. 

 
(b) Activation of an emergency response of a patient or emergent transport 

of a patient to another facility. Such reporting shall be made within 72 
hours of obtaining knowledge of the emergency. 

 
(2) Information to be included in the adverse report: 

 
(a) Date and time of occurrence; 



 
02-313 Chapter 12     page 3 

 

 
(b) Name of patient; 
 
(c) Dental practice procedure involved, if any; 
 
(d) Type and dosage of nitrous oxide analgesia, local anesthesia, sedation, 

and/or general anesthesia used in the procedure; and 
 
(e) Description of the occurrence. 

 
(3) In the event the licensee does not have knowledge or cannot reasonably be 

expected to have knowledge, but subsequently obtains actual knowledge of an 
adverse occurrence, then such licensee shall report to the Board the earlier of 
72 hours after obtaining knowledge of a patient death, or 30 days after obtaining 
knowledge of the permanent organic brain dysfunction or hospitalization of a 
patient related to a dental procedure. 

 
F. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES; INVENTORY CONTROL 

 
(1) Dentists who are authorized to dispense, administer, and prescribe any controlled 

substances shall do so in accordance with 32 M.R.S. §18308, Board Rules, 
Chapter 21, and the provisions of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and 
Control Act of 1970, 21 U.S.C. §§ 801-971. 

 
(2) Dentists authorized to prescribe, administer and dispense controlled substances 

shall adopt protocols to maintain inventories and records of controlled substances 
in accordance with state and federal laws and regulations. Protocols shall be 
reviewed at least annually and updated as needed. Licensees who hold permits 
issued by the United States Department of Justice, Drug Enforcement 
Administration shall adhere to the practitioner requirements as outlined in the 
“Practitioner’s Manual – An Informational Outline of the Controlled Substances 
Act” (2006 Edition), published by the Drug Enforcement Administration, Office 
of Diversion Control. 

 
G. PATIENT RECORDS: Commensurate with a licensee’s scope of practice, patient 

records shall include, but are not limited to, dental charts, photographs, patient histories, 
examination and test results, diagnoses, treatment plans, progress notes, anesthesia charts, 
prescriptions, radiographs, patient consents, and billing records. 

 
(1) Confidentiality of Patient Records. All patient records shall be maintained in a 

manner that ensures confidentiality and access for patients and authorized 
practitioners who may wish to obtain a copy of patient records as required by the 
state and federal requirements. See 22 M.R.S. § 1711-C; 45 C.F.R. §§ 164.500-
164.534 (privacy rule of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, 
or “HIPAA”). 

 
(2) Record Retention Requirement. A dentist, denturist, dental hygienist who is 

practicing with an independent practice dental hygiene authority, public health 
dental hygiene authority, or dental therapy authority (including a provisional 
authority) shall maintain a patient's original dental record and original 
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radiographs for a minimum of seven (7) years from the date of the last patient 
treatment.  

 
Licensees who do not have legal authority or ownership over patient records in 
the delivery of their services shall, at a minimum, maintain access to such records 
to comply with this subsection. 

 
(3) Availability of Dental Records 

 
(a) The licensee shall provide upon written request by a patient or another 

specifically authorized person, a copy of the patient’s dental record. A 
copy of the patient record, including radiographs, shall be provided 
within a reasonable amount of time not to exceed 21 days from the 
receipt of the request. The licensee may charge a reasonable fee for the 
expense of providing a patient’s record, not to exceed the cost of either 
labor and/or materials incurred in the copying of the patient record and 
radiographs. The licensee shall not require payment for services rendered 
as a condition of providing a copy of the patient record.  

 
(b) Electronic patient records shall be unalterable and producible in paper 

form upon request. 
 

H. CONTENT OF PATIENT RECORDS: All licensees shall comply as set forth below: 
 

(1) The patient record shall be a complete record of all patient contact, including, 
but not limited to, a general description of the patient’s medical and dental 
history and status at the time of examination, diagnoses, patient education, 
treatment plan, referral for specialty treatment, medications administered and 
prescribed, pre- and post-treatment instructions, and information conveyed to 
the patient. 

 
(2) Patient records shall be legible and clear in meaning to a subsequent examining 

or treating dentist, the patient, dental auxiliaries or other authorized persons. 
 
(3) At a minimum, a patient's record shall include: 

 
(a) Patient Information  

 
i. Name, address and date of birth of the patient; 

ii. If the patient is not of the age of majority, the name of the 
parent or legal representative; and 

iii. Patient's telephone numbers(s) and electronic mail addresses, 
except if the patient declines to provide this information. 

 
(b) Medical and Dental History Form. The patient's medical history and 

dental history shall include, but not be limited to: 
 

i. A review of past and present illnesses, diseases and disabilities; 
ii. Systemic disease(s); 
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iii. Current prescription and non-prescription medications as well as 
any known drug allergies; 

iv. Documentation of consultation with the patient's medical physician(s) 
as appropriate; 

v. Date of the patient's last dental visit and frequency of dental visits; and 
vi. At each patient visit, the licensee shall inquire and document in the 

patient record any changes in the patient's medical history, including 
but not limited to, changes in medications. 

 
(c) Record of Examination. Each patient record shall include 

documentation of the results of a comprehensive examination of the 
following areas: 

 
i. Head and neck; 
ii. Radiographic images as necessary and appropriate to facilitate a 

comprehensive diagnosis of the patient. Radiographs shall be 
clearly identified with the patient name, and date the radiographic 
exposure was taken; 

iii. Intra-oral and extra-oral soft tissue examination, including 
charting of existing restorations and current status of patient's hard 
and soft tissue; 

iv. Comprehensive periodontal screening; 
v. Oral cancer screening; 

vi. Examination of the teeth; 
vii. Duration of edentulousness, and any previous or existing removable 

prosthesis; 
viii. Results of any other examination performed as necessary and 

appropriate to facilitate comprehensive diagnoses of the patient's 
dental status;  

ix. Findings which are within or outside of normal limits; and 
x. Baseline blood pressure at initial consultation visit, and as clinically 

necessary thereafter. 
 
(d) Diagnoses. The patient record shall include written diagnoses of the 

patient's current dental status based on the evaluation of the patient's 
medical and dental history, examination, and radiographic findings. 

 
(e) Treatment Plan. The patient record shall include a written treatment 

plan describing in detail the proposed treatment. The proposed treatment 
plan, including alternatives to treatment, and information regarding 
estimated fees must be reviewed with the patient prior to the 
commencement of treatment. The treatment plan shall also include 
referrals to other providers as necessary. If there is no treatment plan this 
must be explained and documented in the patient record. 

 
(f) Informed Consent. There are two categories of informed consent: 

implied consent and express consent.  
 

i. Implied Consent. Implied consent is a presumed type of 
permission based on the patient’s conduct and it applies primarily 
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to non-invasive procedures such as consultations, examinations, 
and diagnoses. 

ii. Express Consent. Express consent is a more formal type of 
permission founded on words, either oral or written, and it applies 
to more invasive procedures. Written informed consent is an 
express consent which includes the signature of (at least) both the 
licensee and the patient (or the patient’s legal guardian). 

 
(g) Progress Notes. The patient record shall include written documentation 

of the treatment provided by the dentist and/or dental auxiliary, 
including but not limited to: 

 
i. Administration of medicines and medicaments including the type, 

amount, and route of administration; 
ii. A statement of services provided including patient reaction, if 

any, during the treatment visit, procedures performed, and 
diagnoses; 

iii. A description of the pre- and post-treatment instructions including, 
if applicable, plans for subsequent treatment; 

iv. Documentation of any referral for specialty treatment, including 
the name of the specialist the patient is referred to; and 

v. A dated written or electronic signature by the dentist or dental 
auxiliary who treated the patient. 

 
(h) Patient Financial Payment/Record. The patient's financial record shall 

include, but not be limited to, the name of the patient's dental insurer, 
documentation of fees for treatment and payment schedule, and claims 
submitted to third parties. 

 
I. PATIENT DISMISSAL: Dentists, denturists, dental hygienists who are practicing with 

an independent practice dental hygiene authority, a public health hygiene authority, or a 
dental therapist authority (including provisional) shall comply as set forth below: 

 
(1) A written notice of dismissal shall be sent to the patient and/or patient’s 

guardian by certified return/receipt mail. The dismissal is effective as of the 
date of the letter. However, the licensee must offer the patient a 30-day 
emergency care period from the date of the dismissal notice. The date 
identifying the end of the 30-day emergency care period must also be clearly 
indicated in the dismissal notice; and 

 
(2) The licensee shall offer and supply copies of the dismissed patient’s dental 

records upon request by the dismissed patient and/or patient’s guardian, 
regardless of the patient meeting his/her financial obligation. Offering to supply 
the patient’s records should be clearly noted, as well, within the termination 
letter. Supplying records may not be contingent on receipt of payment.  

 
J. PRACTICE SALE AND CLOSURE NOTIFICATIONS; WAIVER 

 
(1) Licensees who either sell or close a practice shall provide to the Board in writing 

within 10 days from the date of sale or closure the following documentation: 
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(a) Practice sale. If the practice sale includes the transfer of patient records, 
then contact information including the name, address, phone number of 
the new owner and/or individual responsible for the patient records shall 
be submitted to the Board. 

 
(b) Practice closure. If the practice closure includes the transfer of patient 

records, then contact information including the name, address, phone 
number of the individual responsible for the patient records shall be 
submitted to the Board. 

 
(c) Practice closure. Submit documentation of the communication tools 

used such as newspaper ads, social media accounts, email notifications, 
or letters notifying patients at least 30 days in advance of the closure. 
The notification shall list specific times for patients to obtain copies of 
their records. 

 
(d) Board waiver. The Board retains the authority to waive the requirements 

where immediate sale and/or closure is a result of sudden illness, 
incapacity, death, or other cause as determined by the Board. 

 
 

II.  SPECIFIC PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS – ADMINISTRATION OF NITROUS OXIDE 
ANALGESIA 

 
A. DENTAL HYGIENIST RESPONSIBILITIES 

 
(1) Limitations. A dental hygienist who is not authorized to administer nitrous oxide 

analgesia from the Board may, during nitrous oxide analgesia administration by 
the dentist, observe the gauges and advise the dentist of any changes in gauge 
indices or readings but shall not in any way or under any circumstances adjust, 
manipulate, or control the nitrous oxide apparatus or equipment. 

 
(2) Authorization. A dental hygienist issued a permit or authority to administer 

nitrous oxide analgesia may administer nitrous oxide analgesia utilizing 
induction via titration and not to exceed 50% concentration under the direct 
supervision of a dentist. 

 
B. DENTIST RESPONSIBILITIES 

 
(1) A dentist who is providing the direct supervision of the administration of nitrous 

oxide analgesia must: 
 

(a) Decide which patient will receive nitrous oxide analgesia and document 
this decision by note or prescription in the patient dental record; 

 
(b) Note in the patient dental record the condition of the patient’s recovery 

prior to the patient’s discharge; and 
 
(c) Utilize engineering controls and maintenance procedures to ensure safety 

of inhalation equipment. 
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(2) A dentist who is supervising the delivery of nitrous oxide analgesia or providing 
the delivery of nitrous oxide analgesia to a patient is responsible to ensure that 
any nitrous oxide delivery system within the dental practice adheres to the hazard 
controls recommendations of nitrous oxide during anesthetic administration as 
established by the following publications of the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services (“DHHS”), CDC, National Institute for Occupational Safety and 
Health (NIOSH): 

 
(a) DHHS (NIOSH) Publication No. 94-100, “Controlling Exposures to 

Nitrous Oxide During Anesthetic Administration”; 
 
(b) DHHS (NIOSH) Publication No. 94-118, “NIOSH Warns: Nitrous Oxide 

Continues to Threaten Health Care Workers”; and 
 
(c) DHHS (NIOSH) Publication No. 96-107, “Control of Nitrous Oxide in 

Dental Operatories.” 
 
   Copies of the foregoing publications may be obtained on line at 

www.cdc.gov/niosh/pubs.html, by calling 1-800-356-4674, or by writing to the 
physical address at: 

 
    NIOSH 
    4676 Columbia Parkway, Mail Slot C-13 
    Cincinnati, OH 45226 
 
 
III. SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS FOR THE USE OF CERTAIN MATERIALS, LASER AND 

DIGITAL EQUIPMENT  
 

A. Use and placement of temporary restorations. A licensee shall use temporary restorative 
material that is not harmful to the tooth, and preferably be fluoride releasing. A licensee 
shall use the protocols attached to this Chapter as Figure 1 and Figure 2 when placing a 
temporary restoration with or without the use of a dental radiograph. 

 
B. Use of silver diamine fluoride. A licensee who applies silver diamine fluoride shall obtain 

written informed consent from the patient (or the patient’s legal guardian). The informed 
consent will identify the risks, benefits, contraindicators and alternatives to the treatment 
of silver diamine fluoride. 

 
C. Use of mercury or mercury amalgam. A licensee who uses mercury or mercury amalgam 

in any dental procedure shall obtain written informed consent from the patient (or the 
patient’s legal guardian). The informed consent will identify the risks, benefits, 
contraindicators, and alternatives to the use of mercury or mercury amalgam in dental 
procedures. 

 
D. Use of lasers and digital equipment devices. A licensee may delegate the use of lasers and 

digital equipment when both the supervising licensee and the individual subject to the 
supervision obtain proper training on the use of the device. The use of the device is 
subject to the limitations of the licensee’s scope of practice, including the limitations of 
the licensee’s ability to delegate the procedure. 

 

http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/pubs.html
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IV.  SPECIFIC PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS – INDEPENDENT PRACTICE DENTAL 

HYGIENE AUTHORITY 
 

A. Prior to an initial patient visit, an independent practice dental hygienist shall obtain from 
the patient or the parent or guardian of a minor patient written acknowledgment of the 
patient's or parent's or guardian's understanding that the independent practice dental 
hygienist is not a dentist and that the service to be rendered does not constitute restorative 
care or treatment. 

 
B. An independent practice dental hygienist shall provide to a patient or the parent or 

guardian of a minor patient a written plan for referral to a dentist for any necessary dental 
care. The referral plan must identify all conditions that should be called to the attention of 
the dentist. 

 
C. An independent practice dental hygienist exposing radiographs must have a written 

agreement with a licensed dentist that provides that the licensed dentist will be available 
to interpret all dental radiographs within 21 days from the date the radiograph is taken 
and that the dentist will sign a radiographic review and findings form.(RESERVED) 

 
V.  SPECIFIC PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS – REFERAL NETWORK 

 
A. A licensee who provides patient care shall have in place a referral network to handle 

patient conditions outside of their scope of practice, training, or level of expertise.  
 
B. Referrals shall be made in writing and clearly identify the condition(s) that prompted the 

referral. The licensee accepting the referral is obligated to use his or her level of training 
to complete the assessment, diagnosing, and treatment planning for referred patients.  

 
C. Once referred treatment is completed, ethical standards require that the patient is returned 

to the referring licensee. Patients, however, retain the right to choose their dental provider 
as long as such provider is willing and able to accept them in their practice. 

 
D. A denturist must immediately refer to a licensed dentist or physician any abnormality or 

disease process that requires medical or dental treatment observed during oral inspection. 
In such a case, the denturist shall take no further action to manufacture or place a denture 
if it may impact the successful outcome of the treatment until the patient has been 
examined by a dentist or physician. If the examination reveals the need for tissue 
modification or opposing natural tooth modification in order to assure proper fit of a full 
denture, the denturist shall refer the patient to a dentist and assure that the modification 
has been completed before taking an impression for the completion of the denture. 

 
 
VI. SPECIFIC PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS – AFTER HOUR PATIENT CARE 
 

A. A licensee shall make reasonable efforts to establish a network of providers to offer both 
emergency and non-emergency dental care to a patient after hours.  
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VII. SPECIFIC PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS – DEVIATION OF PRACTICE STANDARDS 
 

A. A licensee may deviate from the standards outlined in this Chapter, if the deviation is 
shown to be reasonable, is based upon physiological conditions or requirements, or 
responds to specific requests of the individual patient. The reason(s) for any deviation 
from the standards must be documented in the patient’s records at the time the deviation 
is made. 

 
 
X.  PRINCIPLES OF ETHICS AND CODES OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

 
A. Dentists shall comply with the American Dental Association Principles of Ethics and 

Code of Professional Conduct, as amended, February 2018. 
 

B. Dental hygienists shall comply with the American Dental Hygienists’ Association Code 
of Ethics as published in its Bylaws and Code of Ethics, adopted June 13, 2016. 

 
C. Denturists shall comply with the National Denturist Association’s Code of Conduct, 

Appendix A, as published in its By-Laws dated September 19, 2015. 
 
 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  
 32 M.R.S. §§ 18324, 18325, 18371, 18372, 18373, 18374, 18374, 18375, 18376, 18377, 18378, and 
18393; and 10 M.R.S. §8003(5-A). 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE 
 April 5, 2020 – filing 2020-085 
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Placement of Temporary Restorations – Dental Radiograph Available 
Figure 1. 
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Placement of Temporary Restorations – Dental Radiograph Not Available 
Figure 2. 
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313  BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
 
Chapter 13: CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 
 
Summary: This chapter sets forth the nature and amount of continuing education credit hours required 
for renewal of licenses issued by the Board. This chapter also establishes how to substantiate satisfaction 
of continuing education requirements for licenses issued by the Board.  
 
 
 
I. Generally. As used in this chapter “directly related to dental practice” means that the continuing 

education must relate to professional competency and aspects of the profession for which the 
individual is licensed. 

 
A. Dentists, Faculty Dentists, and Limited Dentists: Forty (40) Credit Hours Required 

for License Renewal 
 

(1) No license will be renewed unless the licensee has completed 40 credit hours of 
continuing education directly related to dental practice during the preceding 
biennial license term as set forth in this subsection and has a current CPRBLS 
certification. The biennial license term begins January 1 of even numbered years 
and ends December 31st of odd numbered years. 
 

(2) Required Areas of Study 
 

a. As a condition of prescribing opioid medication, at least 3 of the 40 
credit hours of continuing education must be earned on the prescription 
of opioid medication.  

 
b. As a condition of holding a sedation permit issued by the Board, at least 6 

of the 40 credit hours of continuing education must be earned in sedation 
and/or anesthesia, physical diagnosis, complications, and techniques.  

 
B. Dental Hygienists and Faculty Dental Hygienists: Thirty (30) Credit Hours 

Required for License Renewal 
 
  No license will be renewed unless the licensee has completed 30 credit hours of 

continuing education directly related to dental practice during the preceding biennial 
license term as set forth in this subsection and has a current CPRBLS certification. The 
biennial license term begins January 1 of odd numbered years and ends December 31st of 
even numbered years. 

 
C. Denturists and Faculty Denturists: Thirty (30) Credit Hours Required for License 

Renewal 
 
  No license will be renewed unless the licensee has completed 30 credit hours of 

continuing education directly related to dental practice during the preceding biennial 
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license term as set forth in this subsection and has a current CPRBLS certification. The 
biennial license term begins January 1 of odd numbered years and ends December 31st of 
even numbered years. 

 
D. Expanded Function Dental Assistants: Fifty (50) Credit Hours Required for License 

Renewal 
 
  No license will be renewed unless the licensee has completed 50 credit hours of 

continuing education directly related to dental practice during the preceding five-year 
license term as set forth in this subsection and has a current CPRBLS certification. The 
license term begins the day the license is issued and ends in five years on the last day in 
the month in which the license was issued. 

 
E. Dental Radiographers: Re-certification of CPRBLS 

 
  No license will be renewed unless the licensee has a current CPRBLS certification.  

 
 

II. Eligible Continuing Education Activities 
 

Continuing education credit hours that directly relate to dental practice may be earned only by 
participation in the following activities: 

 
A. There is no credit hour limit on any of the following activities: 

 
(1) Presentations, lectures, seminars, and workshops. 
 
(2) Study clubs pre-approved pursuant to Section VI. 
 
(3) Post-graduate academic courses related to dental practice or medical degree 

programs offered by a regionally accredited program recognized by the United 
States Department of Education. 

 
(4) Academic courses related to the administration of local anesthesia, nitrous oxide 

analgesia, and expanded function dental assisting. 
 
(5) Completion of a dental residency program. 
 
(6) Distance learning activities such as online courses or webinars with verification 

and passage of an exit examination. 
 

 B. No more than ten (10) credit hours can be claimed in any one activity or any 
combination of activities listed below: 

 
(1) Teaching, guest lecturer, guest clinical supervisor. A licensee may only once 

claim continuing education credit for preparation and presentation of a course, 
workshop or seminar on a distinct subject matter. A licensee may only once 
claim continuing education credit for preparation and presentation as either a 
guest lecturer or a guest clinical supervisor at a dental practice educational 
institution or program approved by the Board. 
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(2) Grand rounds. A licensee may claim continuing education credit for a formal 
meeting in hospital settings in which discussion of a clinical case of one or more 
patients occur.  

 
(3) Writing. A licensee may claim continuing education credit for writing articles and 

books for publication, as well as for reviewing and editing articles and books. 
 
(4) Pre-recorded audio/video; independent study. A licensee may claim 

continuing education credit only once for a particular audiotape/disk, 
videotape/disk or course of independent study. 

 
(5) Distance learning without exit examination. A licensee may claim continuing 

education credit for distance learning activities such as online courses and 
webinars in which an exit examination was not taken. 

 
(6) Student table clinic. A licensee may claim continuing education credit for 

attending a student table clinic, which is a structured presentation sponsored by 
an educational institution that uses oral communication and visual media to 
inform, clarify, and/or review material on a specific topic. 

 
(7) Reading activity. A licensee may claim continuing education credit for reading 

an article, a professional journal, a written publication, or a professional 
publication with verification and passage of an exit examination. 

 
(8) In service training sessions. A licensee may claim continuing education credit 

for attending in-service training sessions such as employer sponsored continuing 
education activities. 

 
C. CPR certification; BLS certification; ACLS certification; PALS certification 
 
 No more than 3 credit hours of CPRBLS certification training completed during a license 

term will count towards meeting the requirements of this chapter. Online CPR trainings 
are not accepted unless the licensee can verify hands-on participation with the instructor 
as a component of the training. Basic Life Support (BLS) certification training meets the 
requirements of the CPR certification requirements. Online BLS trainings are not 
accepted unless the licensee can verify hands-on participation with the instructor as a 
component of the training. 

 
 No more than 6 credit hours of ACLS or PALS certification training completed during a 

license term will count towards meeting the requirements of this chapter. Online ACLS 
or PALS trainings are not accepted, unless the licensee can verify hands-on participation 
with the instructor as a component of the training. 

 
 
III. Ineligible Continuing Education Activities 
 
 The following activities are ineligible for continuing education credit: 
 

A. Continuing education pursuant to a Board order or consent agreement. 
 
B. General attendance at a conference. 
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C. Business meetings of a professional association. 

 
D. The study of yoga, energy healing; exploration of personal growth; or any activity of any 

nature whatsoever that does not directly relate to dental practice. 
 

E. Reading of an article, a professional journal, an online or written publication, or a 
professional publication without an examination. 

 
F. Clinical examinations taken to obtain a license. 

 
Hands-on continuing education activities may be eligible for continuing education credit but are 
not eligible for double-credit. 

 
 
IV. Continuing Education Providers; Documentation 

 
A. Providers. Eligible continuing education activities may be offered by providers of 

continuing education such as departments of regionally-accredited institutions; national, 
state or local professional organizations or associations; public or private human services 
organizations; or private consultants or individuals.  

 
 Such organizations include, but are not limited to: 
 

(1) Any accredited college or university. 
 
(2) Any program accredited by CODA. 
 
(3) The American Dental Association, the National Dental Association, or their 

component and constituent societies, associations, and local society. 
 
(4) The American Dental Hygienists Association, the National Dental Hygienists 

Association, or their component or constituent societies, associations, and local 
society. 

 
(5) The International Federation of Denturists (IFD) or its component societies. 
 
(6) The Maine Licensed Denturist Association. 

 
(7) The academies and specialty organizations recognized by the Board. 

 
(8) The Veterans Administration or the armed forces. 

 
(9) Providers who are accredited, approved, or recognized by: 

 
a. The American Academy of Dental Hygiene; 
 
b. The American Dental Association’s Continuing Education Recognition 

Program (“ADA CERP”); 
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c. The Academy of General Dentistry’s Program Approval for Continuing 
Education (“PACE”); 

 
d. Accrediting agencies recognized by the American Medical Association’s 

Council on Medical Education; or 
 
e. The Accreditation Council for Medical Education. 

 
B. Documentation. All documentation must be maintained for the time periods set forth in 

Section V(A). All continuing education activities completed by a licensee, including 
teaching, writing, independent study, and other distance learning activities, must be 
documented by a certificate issued by a provider of continuing education, an official 
academic transcript, or other reliable written proof of successful completion that is 
acceptable to the Board. The documentation must include the date, location, and duration 
of the activity; the name of the presenter; the name of the course or program; an agenda 
showing the content of the program; and the number of credit hours claimed.  

 
Continuing education printouts or logs maintained by a third party and provided to the 
Board by the licensee are not acceptable unless the printout or log contains all of the 
following information: 

 
(1) The date, location, and duration of the activity. 
 

(2) A certificate of completion documenting the name of the course or program, and 
the number of credit hours earned. 

 
(3) The name of the continuing education presenter and/or organization providing 

the activity. 
 

If the third party does not have a certificate of completion to document the activity, then 
it is the licensee’s responsibility to maintain documentation to substantiate the activity in 
accordance with this chapter.  

 
 
V. Audit 
 

A. Certification of continuing education for renewal 
 

 At the time of application for renewal, each licensee must certify, on a form provided by 
the Board, compliance with the continuing education credit hours required during the 
preceding license term or during the continuing education period established in statute or 
by Board rule. No additional information or continuing education documentation is 
required to be submitted at the time of renewal. However, the licensee must retain 
documentation of all continuing education credit hours earned during the most recent 
license renewal term for two years’ post-renewal. 

 
B. Verification of compliance by audit 

 
 Applicants for license renewal will be selected on a random basis for audit of continuing 

education compliance. In addition, an individual licensee may be selected for an audit as 
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part of an investigation or if there is reasonable cause to believe the licensee has provided 
a false certification concerning the completion of continuing education requirements. 

 
 Licensees selected for audit will be notified to submit documentation of the continuing 

education activities that were certified by the licensee at the time of renewal. Continuing 
education credit hours that cannot be documented in accordance with the documentation 
requirements of Section IV(B) or that do not satisfy the criteria for continuing education 
contained in statute or Board rule will be disallowed. 

 
 

VI. Pre-approval of Continuing Education Activities 
 
 The Board may pre-approve courses, seminars, and workshops, to ensure the activity is directly 

related to dental practice only at the request of a provider of the continuing education. A seminar, 
workshop, or institute for which pre-approval has been sought but denied is not eligible for 
continuing education credit. 

 
 
VII.  The Audit Findings 
 
 If data submitted to the Board pursuant to an audit does not fulfill the requirements of this 

chapter, then the licensee shall be notified of the Board’s failed audit finding. A failed audit 
constitutes unprofessional conduct and the Board may, without hearing, enter into a consent 
agreement with a licensee who has not met the continuing education requirements of this chapter.  

 
 
VIII. Waivers, Extensions, First Renewal, Inactive Status 
 

A. Waiver/extension. Upon receipt of a written request prior to license expiration, the 
Board may, in its discretion, grant an extension of time or other waiver to an individual 
licensed or certified by the Board who, because of prolonged illness or other extenuating 
circumstances, e.g., military deployment, has been unable to meet the educational 
requirements under this chapter. 

 
B. First renewal; general requirements. Licensees who renew for the first time must 

complete one half of the required continuing education credit hours as outlined in this 
chapter and have a current CPRBLS certification.  

 
C. First renewal for dentists. Dentists who are renewing for the first time must complete 

one half of the required continuing education credit hours as outlined in this chapter and 
must have a current CPRBLS certification. The content of the credit hours must include 
completion of 3 credit hours in opioid medication prescribing as a condition to prescribe 
opioid medication, and completion of 6 credit hours of sedation and/or anesthesia training 
as a condition to administer sedation under Chapter 14 of the Board’s rules. 
 

D. Active to Inactive License Status. To place an active license on inactive status, the 
licensee must submit a written request to the Board attesting that services will not be 
rendered during the remainder of the license term. Licensees with an inactive status are 
required to renew their licenses but are not required to complete continuing education 
credit hours under this chapter. 
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 E. Inactive to Active License Status. To place an inactive license on active status, the 
licensee must submit a written request to the Board, documented evidence of completing 
continuing education credit hours as outlined below, and a current CPRBLS certification 
card. For purposes of this section, the Board may require dentists to comply with the 
opioid prescription and the sedation techniques training required under this chapter. 

 
(1) Licensees who hold an inactive license status for a period less than five years 

must complete one-half of the continuing education credit hours required for the 
license they hold under this chapter and present a current CPRBLS certification, 
to return the license to active status. 

 
(2) Licensees who hold an inactive license status for a period exceeding five years 

must complete all of the continuing education credit hours required for the 
license they hold under this chapter and present a current CPRBLS certification, 
to return the license to active status. 

 
 
IX. Transition Language 

 
Individuals who are licensed on the effective date of this revised Chapter 13 may use credits 
earned pursuant to the former Chapter 13 to satisfy continuing education requirements for their 
first license renewal due on or after this revision’s effective date. Continuing education 
requirements of this newly-effective Chapter 13 shall apply to subsequent renewals by those 
individuals and to individuals initially licensed after this revision’s effective date. 
 
However, this does not exempt dentists from completing the 3 hours of opioid training as a 
condition to prescribe opioids, or completing 6 hours of sedation training as a condition to renew 
a sedation permit. 
 
Expanded function dental assistants who transition to a two-year license term on or after the 
effective date of this chapter are required to complete 20 credit hours of continuing education 
directly related to dental practice during the preceding two-year license term as set forth in this 
subsection and has a current CPRBLS certification. The license term begins the day the license is 
issued and ends on ends December 31st of even numbered years. 

 
 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 
 32 M.R.S. §§ 18308(4), 18324, 18350, and 18351. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 May 22, 2007 – filing 2007-204 
 
AMENDED: 
 February 11, 2009 – filing 2009-64 
 September 9, 2012 – filing 2012-255 
 
REPEALED AND REPLACED: 
 November 12, 2018 – filing 2018-237 
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